I Almost Looked

Made my three month follow up trip to the Rheumatology clinic yesterday. The drug they had me on hasn’t helped my swollen knuckle so they decided that they would re-inject it with a steroid and switch medication. The Rheumatologist I see is a male Fellow at the clinic and must run everything by the department head who happens to be female. Before the injection I mentioned that the last time at the hand clinic I had gotten the dry heaves and didn’t want to go through that again. They had me lay down on the table and told me not to look. They had an RN with a wet cloth for my forehead and a puke bag handy and to keep me occupied while they did what they had to do.

The Fellow kept me posted as he wiped my knuckle down with an antiseptic and poured a cousin to liquid nitrogen (danged cold) on the knuckle before he told me I’d still feel a tiny sting as he put in a numbing agent. I did feel a tiny sting but felt absolutely nothing after that. I didn’t know if they were working on my hand or not. Mind you, I had my eyes tightly closed all this time. The department head was supervising while the procedure was being done by the Fellow. After a couple of minutes I heard the department head say “Oh, pull it out a little and re-position it.” That’s when I almost looked. On the way home I asked the PQ if she had heard what I thought I had heard. She looked over at me and said, “She was talking about the needle!” Obviously we’ve been married long enough that she knows what I was thinking.

Keep your fork

Leave a Reply

