The Puzzle

I met the Overyanda’s, Snoozle and his wife Wanda, this fall in TSC. Turns out they live in a hollow about three ridges over from our place and he was the one who almost got in the same tree with me during hunting season. To drive there you have to go north of Fort Valley and come back across the top of the mountain. It’s easier and faster to get there on foot by going over the top of our ridge, hitting the old stagecoach road, and working your way northwest. They appear to be in their mid to late 80’s but you would never know it as active as they are. Snoozle has a pair of white mules that he uses to make hay with and to drag timber out of the woods. He makes an annual trip up to the Amish country in Pennsylvania each fall to attend a horse and mule auction near Lancaster. We hit it off right away as I grew up around horses and have always wanted a mule of my own. He had asked me to go along to the sale in October but as I had a doctor’s appointment I had to decline. As Wanda had to stay to home and mind the stock I told them that if she needed any help while he was away to give me a call.

Snoozle had been gone a couple of days when she called and said,”Please come over and help me. I have a killer jigsaw puzzle and I can’t figure out how to get it started.” Helping with a puzzle isn’t what I had in mind with my offer to help but I asked, “What is it suppose to be when it’s finished?” Wanda answered, “According to the picture on the box, it’s a rooster.”

Having had to turn the chickens in the evenings as a boy, I’m kind of partial to chickens and decided to go over and help her with the puzzle. I trudged through the woods and when I got there she let me in and showed me where she had the puzzle spread out all over the table. I studied the pieces for a moment, looked at the box, and turned back to her and said, “First of all, no matter what we do, we’re not going to be able to assemble these pieces into anything resembling a rooster.” I gently took her hand and said, “Secondly, I want you to relax. Let’s have a nice cup of tea, and then,” with a deep sigh continued “let’s put all the cornflakes back in the box.”

Keep your fork

Leave a Reply

