Southern Nativity Scene

Merry Christmas

One of our local churches has a Nativity Scene that shows great skill and talent that has gone into creating and displaying it. One minor feature bothered me, tho. The three wise men are wearing firemen’s helmets. I was totally unable to come up with a reason that might explain this. Stopping at the local ‘Visitors Center’ I asked the lady behind the counter about the firemen’s helmets. She instantly flew into a rage, shouting at me, “You Yankees never do read the Bible!” That’s the second time I’ve been called a ‘Yankee’ since moving out here so I assured her that I did read the Bible, but for the life of me, I couldn’t recall anything about firemen’s helmets in the Bible. She jerked her Bible from underneath the counter, ruffled through the pages, and finally poked her finger at a passage. Sticking it in my face, she said, “See, right here, ‘The three wise men came from afar.'”

Keep your fork

 

 

Leave a Reply

