A Talking Frog

Catfish, our neighbor, is known by many in and around Virginia to be a top-notch fisherman. You often see him heading down to the river in his Gator with various fishing rods and reels strapped to the front bumper. If a species of fish has swam in the Shenandoah, Catfish has caught at least one fish of that species. He knows the type of water these fish inhabit and the type of bait to use to catch them. He had an unusual experience this past fall that many people haven’t heard about. I feel it is my responsibility to spread the story.

As I had mentioned in previous posts, Catfish is generally a catch and release fisherman. I believe it was a Tuesday morning when he was sitting on a 5 gallon pail he had flipped upside down. He had been trying to catch a couple of smallmouth bass for supper as Gator Babe had a hankering for fish that evening.

All of a sudden a frog appeared before him and yelled, “Mister! Mister! Down here. I’m really a beautiful princess. Kiss me and I’ll teach you how to catch fish by the bucket full and we’ll live happily ever after.”

Catfish carefully bent over, picked up the frog and put it in his shirt pocket. He struggled to get off the pail and pick up his gear. He placed the rods back in their proper holders, got into the Gator and headed back up the hill toward home.

As he came through the gate, the frog yelled out again, “Hey mister, I’m really a gorgeous princess. Kiss me and we’ll live happily ever after!” Still Catfish didn’t say a word but kept on driving. As he was coming past my barn the frog was getting angry at being ignored and shouted out, “Why don’t you kiss me? I told you I am a beautiful princess and will teach you how to catch fish and that we’ll live happily ever after.”

“Listen honey,” Catfish said, “I’m 81 years old. At this point in my life I’d rather have a talking frog.”

I guess with age comes wisdom.

Keep your fork

Leave a Reply

