The Vet

There are getting to be more veterinarian shows on TV all the time. It all started with ‘The Incredible Dr. Pol’ followed by ‘Dr. Jeff: Rocky Mountain Vet’.  Now there is ‘The Adventures of Dr. Buckeye Bottoms’ and at least one other where a lady vet flies all over Alaska or Canada, but, for the life of me, I can’t remember its name. While watching Dr. Jan (Pol) the other night, an older lady brought in a cat for doctoring. (I’d swear that some people just want to be on TV). Seeing that cat reminded me of this story.

Every Sunday a little old lady placed $1,000 in the collection plate. It went on for weeks until the priest, overcome with curiosity, approached her.

“My dear, I couldn’t help but notice that you put $1,000 a week in the collection plate,” he said.

“Why yes,” she replies, “every week my son sends me money, and what I don’t need I give to the church.”

“That’s wonderful. How much does he send you?” the priest asked.

“He sends me $2,000 a week,” she replies proudly.

“Your son is very successful,” said the priest. “What does he do for a living?”

“He is a veterinarian,” she answered.

“That is a very honorable profession,” the priest assures her. “Where does he practice?”

“Well,” she replies, “he has one cat house in Kansas City and another in New Orleans.”

Keep your fork

Leave a Reply

