How Much Sleep

There is always talk about how much sleep is needed by children of school age. School age children are not the only individuals that we should be concerned with when it comes time to consider hours of sleep needed. While talking to our son and daughter-in-law the other night, our grandson’s 18 month checkup was brought up. One of the questions from the pediatrician was how much sleep he was getting. On hearing that he was getting around 12 hours total sleep between night-time and daily naps, she indicated that she thought he wasn’t getting enough sleep.

My doctor asked me the same question a year or so ago. Here’s what I told him, “I’m retired. When I’m hungry, I eat. When I’m cold, I put a jacket on. When I wake up, I get up. When I’m tired, I go to bed. Hell, I don’t keep track of how much sleep I’m getting. Some nights I go to bed at 7 o’clock while other nights it’s 11. I get up as early as 5 or as late as 10:30.” He knew he wasn’t going to be on the winning side of that conversation and changed the subject.

After some research, here’s the amount of sleep recommended for various ages. Remember, not getting enough sleep is associated with a number of chronic diseases and conditions, such as diabetes, cardiovascular diseases, obesity and depression.

Infants
Birth to 2 months…. 12 to 18 hours
3 to 11 months …. 14 to 15 hours

Toddlers
1 to 3 years …. 12 to 14 hours

Children
3 to 5 years ….. 11 to 13 hours
5 to 10 years …. 10 to 11 hours

Adolescents
10 to 17 years …. 8.5 to 9.5 hours

Adults
17 + years …. 7 to 9 hours

If you are anything like I am, you want to tell your doctor what he/she wants to hear. Tell them you get anywhere from 7 to 9 hours of sleep per day & night and get them off your kiester on this subject.

Keep your fork

Leave a Reply

