AAADD – Age Activated Attention Deficit Disorder

I don’t know what the world is coming to. Here’s how yesterday went. I decided to work on the car, start to the garage and notice the mail on the table. OK, I’m going to work on the car. BUT FIRST I’m going to go through the mail.

I lay the keys on the table. After discarding the junk mail, I notice the trash can is full. OK, I’ll just put the bills on my desk. BUT FIRST, I’ll take the trash out.

Since I’m going to be near the mailbox, I’ll address a few bills. Now, where is the checkbook? Oops, there’s only one check  left. Where did I put the extra checks? BUT FIRST, I need to put my morning coffee cup back in the kitchen.

I head for the kitchen, look out the window, notice the flowers need a drink of water. I put the cup on the counter and there’s my extra pair of glasses on the counter. What are they doing here? I’ll just put them away. BUT FIRST, I need to water those plants.

I head for the door and notice that someone left the TV remote in the wrong spot. Okay, I’ll put the remote away and water the plants. BUT FIRST, I need to find those checks.

END OF THE DAY: Oil in the van is not changed, bills still unpaid, cup still  in the sink, checkbook still only has one check left in it, lost my car keys. And when I try to figure out how come nothing got done today, I’m baffled because…I KNOW I WAS BUSY ALL DAY!

I realize this condition is serious. I’ll get help. BUT FIRST, I have to write this post.

Keep your fork

Leave a Reply

