The Hunting Trip

I had forgotten all about this particular hunting trip to Wyoming until I saw an incident on an outdoor show the other night. Here’s how it went down.

I was the instructor of an Adult Farm Management Program in Minnesota in the mid-seventies. Being on a 12 month contract I could take my 2 weeks of vacation time when I could work them into my schedule. It so happened that  deer hunting season in Wyoming came at a time when I could get away from the program for a few days. The county extension director, also named Floyd, was an avid deer hunter and could also work a Wyoming deer hunting trip into his schedule at the same time.

We loaded up my CJ7 jeep with our hunting and camping gear and set off. We would always camp near our hunting sites to make the most out of the day light available to us. Floyd had an old canvas wall tent that we would headquarter out of. We would pack most of the needed food items and would grab a quick breakfast, pack a sandwich for lunch and then prepare a decent supper meal. Floyd was not only college educated but was also a man of the world. He was well read , a deep thinker and could express himself like no one else I knew.

I believe it was our third day on site of this particular hunt. We had both passed on some smaller bucks, waiting for bigger bodied bucks to harvest. After an exceptionally hard day of hunting and a meal of steak and potatoes we lay down for the night and went to sleep. Some hours later, I awoke and nudged my faithful friend and said, “Floyd, look up and tell me what you see.”

Floyd said, “I see a fantastic panorama of countless stars”.

I countered with, “And what does that tell you?”

Floyd pondered for a moment and answered, “Astronomically, it tells me that there are millions of galaxies and potentially billions of planets. Astrologically, I observe that Saturn is in Leo. Horologically, I deduce that the time is approximately a quarter past three. Theologically, I can see that God is all-powerful and that we are small and insignificant. Meteorologically, I suspect that we will have a beautiful day tomorrow for our hunting. Why? What does it tell you?”

I lay there silent for a moment, trying to fully understand what he had just said and then answered him, “Someone has stolen our tent.”

It was some years later that Floyd passed from brain cancer. I can see him sitting on a tree stump along the golden streets in a better place, still looking at the bright side of life (so to speak). A hunting friend and individual like Floyd is hard to come by.

Keep your fork

Leave a Reply

