Is It Raining?

Last Saturday was a rainy day. It wasn’t a constant rain, but one of those days that whenever you thought you could go outside and do something, it would start once again with the rain drops dampening your urge to be somewhat productive. I would say it was something like the day this experience happened to me.

It was this time of year and I was out visiting quite a few students in the western part of the state. As I would be out ‘West River’, as we called it, for an extended time, I got a room in an extended stay hotel. It had rained off and on all day long but I had excellent farm visits with two students. I pulled into the hotel around six, went to my suite and made phone calls to confirm my visits for the next day. Not wanting to get wet while walking to a nearby restaurant for supper, I opened the patio door and stuck my hand out to check for raindrops. As I did so, a glass eye fell into my hand.

I stepped out and looked up to see where the glass eye came from just in time to see a young woman looking down.

“Is this yours?” I asked.

“Yes it is, could you bring it up?” she asked. Not wanting to just toss it up and have here miss catching it, I agreed.

The woman, who was very attractive, was very thankful and offered me a drink. As it was starting to sprinkle again, I agreed thinking that the rain would stop soon as it had been doing all day.

Shortly after she fixed us both drinks, she said, “I’m about to have dinner. There’s plenty, would you like to join me?”

Not wanting to be standoffish and seeing that the rain had picked up, I accepted her offer and we both enjoyed a lovely meal. As the evening was drawing to a close the young woman said, “I’ve had a marvelous evening. Would you like to stay the night?”

I hesitated, then said, “Do you act like this with every man who you meet?”

“No,” she replied, “only those that catch my eye.”

Keep your fork

Leave a Reply

