Unwanted Calls

There isn’t a week that goes by that we don’t get at least two phone calls and/or letters, wanting a donation or contribution to their organization, fund, school, etc. I get tired of these solicitations and often don’t answer the phone or open pieces of mail that I know are looking for money. I told one person a while back that I had so many hands wanting in my pocket that if my ‘guys’ itched, I couldn’t get my hand in my own pocket to discretely scratch them. Didn’t do any good, they still call regularly. Here’s my next reply to a solicitor.

“You evidently haven’t heard that my mother is dying after a long illness, and has medical bills that are several times her annual income. Did you know that my brother, a disabled veteran, is blind and in a wheelchair? Have you heard that my sister’s husband died in a traffic accident, leaving her penniless with three children. Last week my uncle was thrown off his horse, broke his back and landed in the hospital. This happen the day after his barn burned after being struck by lightning. Since I didn’t give any money to any of these people, why should I give any to you?”

Will they be listening closely enough to get the hint that they should put my name on their ‘Do Not Call List’?

Keep your fork

Leave a Reply

