Top Dog

Newt was telling me about a discussion he and three of his cronies had the other day. I thought maybe you’d enjoy it as much as I did. It proves that the first liar doesn’t have a chance.

Newt, Hank, Andy and JC were sitting around the local establishment and started boasting about the merits of their four-legged friends.

“My ol’ Samson goes to the store every morning for me,” said JC. “He always bring back the fishin’ bait I’ll need for the day.”

“My dog, Sadie, buys me a bag of Red Man at the same store,” said Andy. “I give her a five dollar bill, and she brings me back the change first and then returns to the store to fetch home my chaw.”

“I send ol’ Duke there for my shotgun shells,” said Hank. “He knows exactly what gauge and brand I want.”

Newt didn’t say anything until he was pressed by the other three guys to top their tales. “I reckon my dog ain’t much to speak of, by comparison,” Newt answered. “He just sits behind the counter in the store all day and runs the cash register.”

Keep your fork

 

Leave a Reply

