Believe It or Not

My good friend Catfish was walking home from the river carrying two fish in a bucket. A game warden approached him and asked to see his fishing license. Knowing that he did not need a license if he was fishing on his own land, he decided to have a little fun with the ‘carp, skunk and crow’ officer. Catfish said, “I did not catch these fish. They are my pets. Every day I come down to the river and whistle, and these fish jump out. I put them in this pail and take them around to see the sights. At the end of the day I return them to the river.”

The warden, not believing a word of it, reminded Catfish that it’s illegal to fish without a license.

Knowing that the warden is new to the area and probably doesn’t know the land owners, he decides to continue with his ‘jocularity’ and said to the warden, “If you don’t believe me, then just watch.” With that, he tossed the fish into the river.

The new warden said, “Now whistle to your fish and show me that they will come out of the water.”

“What fish?” asked Catfish.

You have to get up pretty early in the morning to get one over on ole Catfish!

Keep your fork

Leave a Reply

