I am a Seenager

They , whoever ‘They” are, are always putting labels on time periods when humans are born. I guess if we want to be politically correct, the proper term would be a ‘generational breakdown label’. All I knew for sure was that I was considered a baby boomer. The administration of the community college where I finished my instructional career always talked about how we had to teach to Millennial and Gen Z expectations. I never knew what those two terms meant or for that matter, what their expectations were. I bet I wasn’t the only instructor in the nation in that boat. If you are unsure, as I was, here is the breakdown according to one source. There are others sources with various yearly breakdowns.

Born 1945 and before – Traditionals or Silent Generation
Born 1946 to 1964 – Baby Boomers
Born 1965 to 1976 – Gen X
Born 1977 to 1995 – Millennials
Born 1996 and later – Gen Z or IGen or Centennials

What the heck does all of this have to do with ‘I am a Seenager’, you may ask. Not a heck of a lot I guess. I could have talked about babies, toddlers, children, teens, adults and seniors, but I needed some kind of a lead into this post that would spread some education with the BS.

I am a seenager. That is a senior teenager in Lehman’s terms (Pun intended).

I have everything that I wanted as a teenager, only 50 to 60 years later. I don’t have to go to school or to work. I get an allowance every month. I have my own pad. I don’t have a curfew. I have a driver’s license and my own car. I can have my friends over whenever I want. If I want a beer, I can get one legally. The people I hang around with are not scared of getting pregnant and they don’t do drugs. If I need help with a computer or other electronic device, I’m not afraid of asking someone for it. I don’t have a cell phone glued to my ear. I don’t have to constantly check my social media accounts. And I don’t have acne.

Life is great.

Keep your fork

Leave a Reply

