I Need The Rake

If you have watched The Alaskan Bush People on TV you know that they use a lot of hand signals when they are communicating among themselves. They say that because of the distance over which they are trying to make their needs known, using hand signals makes more sense than trying to shout at each other. I thought the Pickle Queen and I knew each others hand signals but I was at a loss for our latest attempt to get our needs known.

We were doing some yard work after the wind and rain we had lately and the PQ went up to the house to take a shower. As she got up to the deck I realized that I couldn’t find the rake. I yelled up to her, “Where’s the rake?”

She couldn’t hear me and shouted back, “What?”

I pointed to my eye, then I pointed to my knee and made a raking motion. Pretty clear I thought. Evidently the PQ wasn’t sure and said, “What?”

I repeated the gestures: “EYE KNEE THE RAKE”.

The PQ replied that she understood and signs back. She first points to her eye, next she points to her left breast, then she points to her bum, and finally points to her crotch.

Well, there was no way in hell I could even come close to that understanding that one. Exasperated, I went up to the house and asked her, “What the hell was that?”

She replied, “EYE – LEFT TIT – BEHIND – THE BUSH.”

Makes sense to me now.

Keep your fork

Leave a Reply

